Finally Constituent Assembly Election is Uncertain. Damn…

EC asks the government to push it by at least 120 days.

We have just received a report from the Election Commission that the EC has expressed its inability to hold election of Constituent Assembly on the stipulated time of June 20. The Commission had written a letter to the government yesterday and the cabinet is now discussion on the content, reports Durga Khanal, a journalist associated with Kantipur daily from the EC office in Kathmandu. The commission argued that all laws should be formulated (there are three laws yet to be brought) and the date of election must be declared at least 110 days prior to the voting day.

This means that the date of the election of Constituent Assembly will have to be differed by at least 110 days. As per the interim constitution of Nepal 2063 the election must be held within mid June. Recently, a meeting of eight ruling parties had decided to hold the CA election on June 20. Many people were skeptical about the possibility of election by that time. The skepticism was fueled by occasional remarks from some western diplomats including UN General Secretary’s personal representative to Nepal Ian Martin. The EC was also complaining about the limited time for the preparation.

Mark These Numbers: 205 + 35 + 240 + 17= 497 in Constituent Assembly

497=Total number of seats in Constituent Assembly

Here is how it works:
205= Existing constituencies (for the Parliament)
35= To be added (recommended by the Election Constituency Delimitation Commission.) Of the 35, the commission has added 28 constituencies in the terai and 7 in the hill regions. But it hasn’t changed the number of constituencies in the 16 himalayan districts.
240 = seats for the proportional system of election
17 = seats to be nominated by the Prime Minister on the recommendation of the Cabinet

Region wise split of the CA seats: 116 in terai and 124 in hilly and himalayan districts. [In the last parliamentary polls, 88 in terai, 95 in the hilly region and 22 in himalayan regions.]

96,000 Nepali= 1 constituency.

ECDC submitted its report to Prime Minister Girija Prasad Koirala yesterday.

>>According to the last census, 48.43 percent of the population reside in the 20 terai districts and 51.57 percent live in the 55 hilly and himalayan districts.

>>With 28 constituencies added to the terai region, each district in the region will get at least one more constituency in the CA polls.

>>But 8 terai districts- Morang, Dhanusha, Rautahat, Bara, Nawalparasi, Rupandehi, Kailali and Mahottari- will have two more constituencies in the CA polls compared to the last polls.

>>Among the hilly districts, Kathmandu will get 2 more constituencies, taking the total number to 9, whereas Udayapur, Makwanpur, Kavre and Kaski will get one more constituency each for the CA polls.

ECDC was coordinated by Arjun Prasad Singh. He said: “The report has included the suggestions given by political parties and civil society and other groups.” He would implemented it. The PM also said he would implement the recommendations of the commission.