Comrades Close Down Kathmandu

maoist kathmandu valley band

A scene from todya’s Kathmandu Valley Band by Maoists. In Gongabu Both pics by Suresh Nath Neupane

As if the city was their small shop and they were the shopkeepers, Maoists comrades have pulled down the shutter of Kathmandu. Vehicles that were on road until an hour ago (10 AM) have now suddenly disappeared. All of a sudden, Maoist cadres have taken over the “control” of the road even as Nepal police are showing their presence. People are now forced to walk on the streets. Thousands are stranded in the bus stations. Maoists said that they called the instant banda (closure) of the Kathmandu Valley to protest Nepal government’s decision to nominate 14 ambassadors for different countries including the US, India, China and Russia. It seems that the list has only the names associated with ruling parties Nepali Congress, CPN UML and Nepali Congress (Democratic). A few are from civil service. Maoists are set to join the interim government to be formed within weeks if everything goes as planned and it is obvious that they are angry with this childish decision of the current SPA government. Maoists must be accepted as crucial element of the governing structure in Nepal. There is no way Nepal can move ahead sidelining Maoists. The government has nominated staunch royalist like Sailaja Acharya and kept Maoists in dark about the nominations. And general public has to suffer because of the government’s foolishness. Yes, Maoists could have become more responsible and voiced their protest in other ways. Why can’t they hold bhok hadtal (fasting) or sit in protest? Bandas are bad. They hurt people. But we see the government more responsible in creating this situation here. Why on earth Maosits were sidelined in those crucial nominations? The government must backtrack from these nominations and move forward taking Maoists into confidence.

maoist kathmandu valley band

In Gongabu.

The ambassadorial nominees are:

1. USA–Dr Suresh Chalise (PM’s foreign affairs advisor)
2. UK–Bhagirath Basnet (Acting Foreign Secretary)
3. India–Shailaja Acharya (NC Leader)
4. Belgium–Pramesh Hamal (CPN-UML leader)
5. Russia–Surya Kiran Gurung (Parliament General Secretary)
6. Japan–Dr Ganesh Yonjan (Conservationist)
7. Thailand–Navin Prajkash Jung Shah (Former VC of TU)
8. China–Tanka Karki (CPN-UML leader)
9. Pakistan–Bal Bahadur Kunwar (Former MP, NC-D leader)
10. Bangladesh–Pradip Khatiwada (MOFA Joint-Secy)
11. Saudi Arabia–Hamid Ansari (Associated with TU)
12. Qatar—Dr Surya Kant Mishra (University Teacher)
13. Myanmar–Guna Laxmi Sharma (BK) (Health Ministry official close to CPN-UML)
14. UN Mission in Geneva–Dinesh Bhattarai (MOFA Joint-Secy)

Related Blogs:

1. Nepali Ambassador: What is the Attraction?
2. Maoists’ Nepal Banda: Day 1 of 7 (Feb 6, 2006)